THE NUMBER OF THE BEAST

Number Of The Beast

by and with Marc Sinan with Jelena Kuljić, Oğuz Büyükberber and Daniel Eichholz, with a video installation by Mirko Borscht

10.07.2021 // from 5 p.m

THE NUMBER OF THE BEAST quotes the title of the third studio album by heavy metal band Iron Maiden. In 1982, their musical worship of evil disrupted the music scene. In 2020, Marc Sinan will again embark on a journey into the heart of darkness under the same title and will musically address the question of the greatest remaining social taboo: what seduces us to violence? Is it excess, the crackling of danger or perhaps pure lust? Is each of us a potential perpetrator?

As attractive as it is repulsive, incomprehensibly dark and incomparably beautiful, so full of extreme contradictions is the human being at the poles of his existence. When he loves, plays, enjoys or dies, his very own moment is revealed. Marc Sinan’s installation not only searches for the deeply hidden human capacity for violence, he also poses the question of the deadly lust that is capable of causing incredible suffering and yet is an indispensable part of human existence.

The Marc Sinan Company is made up of some of the most exciting contemporary and experimental musicians. Together they search for the intoxication of the abyss in terms of sound and performance in the TRANSFORMATOR in the SPREEHALLE Berlin.

Oğuz Büyükberber // clarinet, synthesizer

Daniel Eichholz // Drums

Jelena Kuljić // Vocals

Marc Sinan // composition, guitar

Funded by the Deutsche Stiftung Klassenlotterie Berlin.

See also

Scroll up Drag View

THE NUMBER OF THE BEAST

Number Of The Beast

von und mit Marc Sinan mit Jelena Kuljić, Oğuz Büyükberber und Daniel Eichholz, mit einer Videoinstallation von Mirko Borscht

10.07.2021 // ab 17 Uhr 

THE NUMBER OF THE BEAST zitiert den Titel des dritten Studioalbums der Heavy Metal Band Iron Maiden. 1982 verstörten deren musikalische Anbetungen des Bösen die Musikszene. 2020 begibt Marc Sinan sich erneut unter demselben Titel auf eine Reise ins Herz der Finsternis und greift musikalisch die Frage nach dem größten verbliebenen gesellschaftlichen Tabu auf: Was verführt uns zur Gewalt? Ist es der Exzess, das Knistern der Gefahr oder womöglich die pure Lust? Ist jeder von uns ein potentieller Täter?

So anziehend wie abstoßend, unbegreiflich finster und unvergleichlich schön, so voll von extremen Widersprüchen zeigt sich der Mensch an den Polen seiner Existenz. Wenn er liebt, spielt, genießt oder stirbt, offenbart sich sein ureigenes Moment. Marc Sinans Installation sucht nicht nur nach der tief verborgenen menschlichen Fähigkeit zur Gewalt, er stellt auch die Frage nach der tödlichen Lust, die so unfassbares Leid zu verursachen vermag und doch ein unverzichtbarer Teil menschlicher Existenz ist.

Die Marc Sinan Company setzt sich aus einigen der spannendsten zeitgenössischen und experimentellen Musiker:innen zusammen. Gemeinsam suchen sie im TRANSFORMATOR in der SPREEHALLE Berlin klanglich und performativ den Rausch des Abgrunds.

 

Oğuz Büyükberber // Klarinette, Synthesizer

Daniel Eichholz // Drums

Jelena Kuljić // Gesang

Marc Sinan // Komposition, Gitarre

Gefördert durch die Deutsche Stiftung Klassenlotterie Berlin.

See also

Scroll up Drag View