A transmedial sound installation with the Marc Sinan Company, the Ensemble ConTempo Beijing, the Dresdner Sinfoniker, Rike Schuberty and Ulrike Langenbein

June 10-13, 2021

Thu & Fri 3 p.m. to 9 p.m

Sat & Sun 12:30 p.m.–9 p.m

SURVIVAL is about the horror of surviving – about how love feels after the death of a loved one.

The composer Marc Sinan and his company tell a contemporary, digital epilogue to the myth of Orpheus and Eurydice. What happened after the mythical singer lost his wife forever? The transmedia piece with a libretto by Maike Wetzel was created as a German-Chinese collaboration. Because one of the most popular Kun operas – “The Peony Pavilion” from the 16th century – is the Chinese variant of the Orpheus myth. The young ensemble ConTempo Beijing is cooperating with the Marc Sinan Company on the multi-part Orpheus cycle. The outstanding performers are among the first contemporary ensembles in China to combine traditional Chinese instruments with Western ones.
SURVIVAL is a hypnotic mix: an immersive video installation in the 360° sound space of the Spreehalle, which reinterprets the contemporary score and traditional music from Asia and Europe and makes it tangible.

The Marc Sinan Company shows ENDLESS PLEASURES – SURVIVAL as part of the transmedial concert series ELEKTROPOLIS, which is funded by the Capital Cultural Fund (HKF).
Musicians from electronics to jazz to avant-garde play here in a 360° sound and video installation specially developed for the SPREEHALLE, the TRANSFORMATOR. With its interactive technology, sound and image can be experienced anew at every point in the SPREEHALLE.
SURVIVAL has also been available as an online version since June 11, 2021. The website is supported on Chrome, Firefox & Edge browsers.

No negative corona test proof is required for this event!
Admission is only possible for firmly booked time slots of 60 minutes each. Admission per slot is limited to 5 people.
10 euros / reduced 8 euro
Tickets can now be booked in our online ticket shop. Remaining tickets are available at the box office.​

Marc Sinan // composition, artistic, musical direction

Maike Wetzel // Libretto

quick colorful pictures // Stage Design

Karsten Lipp // 360° sound design

Ulrike Langenbein // Performance Concept & Objects

Holger Kuhla, Maike Wetzel // Dramaturgy

Ensemble ConTempo Beijing // Fanhe Liu (Pipa), Jiakang Zhang (Zheng), Yang Zheng (Sheng)

Dresden Symphony Orchestra // Robin Hayward (tuba), Matthias Gunnarson (trumpet), Johannes Lauer (trombone, Juliane Baucke (horn)

Marc Sinan Company // Oğuz Büyükberber (clarinet), Daniel Eichholz (percussion), Miako Klein (flute), Daniel Gloger (vocals), Marc Sinan (guitar)

Rike Schuberty // Performance

Funded by the Federal Cultural Foundation, the Cultural Foundation of the State of Saxony and the Art Foundation of the State of Saxony-Anhalt.

In a media partnership with taz, the daily newspaper.

See also

Scroll up
WordPress Cookie Plugin by Real Cookie Banner